RTFM!

…or at least know stock features before attempting to add your own.

I recently got a used ’94 GMC Vandura. The thing is a beast, but its radio lacks a tape deck. So i decided to re purpose my old DLO car iPod dock and FM transmitter to take an audio signal in.

I pulled the thing apart, documenting as i went to post on this very blog. I got extremely lucky as my first three wire guesses were spot on (Audio Gnd, L-Channel, R-Channel). Withing 15 min i had audio coming out of my computer, into the transmitter and out of my alarmclock/radio!

I began looking for a good place to solder my leads when i noticed something odd. It looked as though the traces led straight to the audio jack on the side of the unit! I couldn’t tell for sure, so a quick rearranging of plugs and i had the same result as tapping directly into the dock’s leads.

I swallowed my pride, having thought this project was almost done, when in actuality, it was never needed to begin with.

Lesson Learned. RTFM or know a device’s stock feature set before modding unnecessarily.

One Response to “RTFM!”

  1. Matt (Kid Chameleon) Says:

    Thank you for explaining modern djing on hackaday.com on the post about my helmet… you did a much better job than if I would have tried. lol. Your projects are interesting, I’m going to add your site to my RSS reader.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

